词汇表

DDoS 攻击放大

放大是指一组增加攻击量的方法,通常是通过滥用不可疑的第三方服务器。 例如 DNS 放大,将域名解析为 IP 地址的 DNS 服务器。 使用 UDP 协议时,不对 DNS 服务器进行查询的源 IP 进行验证。 因此,攻击者可以发出一个较短的请求,从而产生更长的响应,同时提供被攻击目标的 IP 地址,而不是发出请求的真实 IP。 DNS 服务器会向攻击目标发送响应,响应时间可能比查询长 10 倍甚至 50 倍。 因此,攻击者可以极大地增加其攻击的影响。

API

API 指的是应用程序编程接口。 API 是一种软件中介,它允许两个或多个软件应用程序相互通信。 它还有扩展机制,以便用户能够以各种方式扩展当前功能。

同时查看: CDN360

应用程序加速

应用程序加速是一个网络解决方案,它关注于为最终用户最大化应用程序的速度。应用程序加速可解决公网延迟、带宽拥塞等问题。对于需要大量交互式内容的应用程序,该技术允许快速呈现和提高加载速度,以满足用户的期望。

同时查看: 企业解决方案

后门

后门是一种恶意软件,它绕过或拒绝正常的身份验证过程,以非法访问系统为目的。因此,使用后门可以远程访问数据库和文件服务器等系统资源,使犯罪者能够远程发布系统命令和更新恶意软件。

大数据

“大数据”是一个术语,用于描述过大或过于复杂而无法通过传统数据处理应用软件进行处理或分析的数据集。 目前,它倾向于使用需要从数据中提取价值的数据分析方法或用户行为分析。

暴力破解

暴力破解 是指自动尝试访问受限资源,例如用户帐户,通过使用用户名、密码或其他参数的细微变化不断尝试登陆。

缓存

缓存是存储于硬件或软件组件中的数据,可以更快地处理对该数据的请求。 缓存是内容交付网络 (CDN) 服务的核心。 CDN 将网站内容复制到针对内容分发进行了优化的代理服务器。

CDN(内容分发网络)

内容分发网络CDN是指在地理上广泛分布的大型代理服务器和数据中心网络。 CDN 用于为最终用户提升内容高可用性和高性能。 不同垂直领域的公司使用 CDN 来提供媒体(例如视频、音频和流媒体)、HTTP 内容和下载文件。

同时查看: CDN 如何工作

CDN 服务

大多数运营商发现CDN解决方案是提供服务和内容的基础,以满足日益增长的流媒体, 在线游戏 需求CDN 服务提供了一个经济高效的解决方案。没有CDN,就不可能满足消费者从任何设备获得快速安全在线体验的需求。
对于不想付出管理成本的同时,从 CDN 中受益的网络运营商,CDNetworks 提供领先的 CDN 服务解决方案。 对于希望自己负责 CDN 管理并在成本和性能上更加灵活的开发人员,CDNetworks 提供具有独特自助服务功能的 CDN360。

同时查看: CDN供应商的优质选择CDN360

撞库

撞库攻击是暴力破解的一种变体。在这种情况下,攻击者已经拥有用户名、电子邮件和密码的列表,通常是从网站或服务中窃取或泄露的。此列表用于尝试访问不同站点或服务上的帐户,因为用户倾向于在多个服务上重复使用同一密码。

信用卡撞库 (Carding)

与撞库攻击类似,从一个站点或服务窃取的密码被用于另一个站点或服务,Carding使用从一个站点或服务窃取的信用卡信息来运行一个自动流程,通过在结帐页面或通过其它站点的API收取少量费用来验证每张卡的有效性。

跨站脚本(XSS)

跨站脚本攻击以用户的浏览器为目标,向站点注入 Javascript 代码。 有些漏洞会被用来向网站添加恶意 Javascript 代码。 成功的 XSS 攻击将使攻击者能够访问用户的浏览器和用户在被黑网站上的会话信息。

数据泄漏保护 (DLP)

数据泄漏保护这一术语通常指的是通常监视出站数据并确保其不包含敏感数据泄露或信息泄漏到不法分子手中的工具和服务。此类工具通常会阻止传出数据流或从中删除敏感信息。 一个合格的 WAF 应该包含一个用于出站数据检查的模块。

字典攻击

字典攻击是暴力破解的“弱化”版本,通过常用密码的字典,例如“1234”,来定位和破解弱密码帐户或其他资源。

分布式拒绝服务攻击(DDoS)

DDOS 攻击包含了各种方法的拒绝服务攻击,旨在关闭站点或在线服务并使用户无法访问。 一种常见的方法是将大量请求同时定向到目标网站,使其不堪重负并耗尽其资源。

域名解析系统 (DNS)

域名解析系统(DNS)是Internet或专用网络上的计算机、服务或任何其他系统或资源的命名约定。从本质上讲,域名被翻译成IP地址,用于路由流量和识别全球用户。

同时查看: DNS安全

HTTP & HTTPS

超文本传输协议 (HTTP) 是一种用于传输超媒体文件(例如 HTML)的应用层协议。 它旨在用于 Web 浏览器和 Web 服务器之间的通信。 HTTP 是万维网数据通信的基础,用户可以轻松访问超文本文档(例如超链接)。 超文本传输协议安全 (HTTPS) 是 HTTP 的扩展。 它用于通过计算机网络进行安全通信,并在 Internet 上广泛使用。 在 HTTPS 中,通信协议使用在传输层进行加密安全传输。

区别:

  • HTTP 是不安全的,而 HTTPS 是安全的。
  • HTTP 运行在应用层,而 HTTPS 运行在传输层,使用 TLS/SSL 证书来确保身份验证。

同时查看: 如何分发和使用视频

图像和分辨率

分辨率是指图像的锐度和清晰度。它通常用于描述显示器、打印机和位图图形图像。现在很少看到纯文本的网站。图像可以提高用户参与度,因为更高分辨率的屏幕图像大小会增加。 因此,高分辨率图像会降低网站性能。

同时查看: 网站性能

基础设施即服务 (IaaS)

基础设施即服务 (IaaS) 是一种云计算形式,可通过 Internet 提供虚拟化计算资源。 服务器硬件等传统IT基础设施由云提供,降低了购买和维护私有IT基础设施的需求。 除了 IaaS,软件即服务 (SaaS) 和平台即服务 (PaaS) 是云计算的三个主要类别。

注入

注入是指将命令添加(或“注入”)到软件应用程序或SaaS预期从用户处接收的输入中,例如表单或API 上,目的是这些命令将由底层组件或服务执行,从而获得对该组件的控制、从中提取数据或其他恶意行为。

负载均衡

负载均衡是指将请求和任务分配到一组服务器上的过程,旨在使整体处理更加高效。避免单个服务器被网络流量淹没。

同时查看: 动态加速Cloud DNSCDN360

浏览器攻击(MitB)

浏览器攻击几乎与中间人攻击相同,但攻击者不是位于两方之间的网络上的某个地方,而是渗透一方的浏览器,通常是使用恶意浏览器扩展程序或安装在该用户设备上的应用程序 . 这种对用户浏览器的访问允许第三方窃听或修改用户与网站之间交换的数据。

中间人攻击(MitM)

在中间人攻击中,黑客拦截两个通信方之间的通信量。在某些情况下,这种渗透者需要在双方之间传递信息,从而在向第二方传递信息时假装是第一方,反之亦然。这种截获可以用于窃听和/或修改双方之间发送的数据。通常,使用加密(如TLS/SSL)和证书的组合来防止这种情况。

流媒体

流媒体是指通过互联网不断接收和呈现给观众的视频和音频内容。媒体文件通常由媒体公司管理。

同时查看: 流媒体加速

OWASP Top 10

OWASP 代表开元 Web 应用程序安全项目。 它是一个由安全专家和其他志愿者组成的全球非营利基金会,以发布 Web 应用程序最高安全风险列表而闻名,被称为“OWASP Top 10”。

协议 DDoS 攻击

这些攻击针对 TCP/IP(网络层攻击)和 HTTP(应用层攻击)等协议或其实现中的弱点。 通常,这些攻击会利用服务器从计算机获取数据包或请求并期待进一步通信的场景。 服务器分配内存和资源来维护会话状态和通信通道,这会被故意减慢或停止通信并耗尽此类资源。

网页抓取

网页抓取是一个自动化的过程,旨在通过向不同的网页或资源发出多个请求,从网站中提取公共数据。网页抓取可以归类为对计算机资源和业务数据的利用,但其本身并不是一种“攻击”,因为抓取的数据通常暴露给用户而不是受到限制。

SD-WAN

软件定义广域网 (SD-WAN) 将会是下一代广域网:它提供了一种全新的方式来管理和操作广域网基础设施。 这种托管、安全的 SD-WAN 连接解决方案可在不牺牲安全性的情况下提供无缝连接和优化的用户体验。

SD-WAN 解决了许多 IT 挑战。 这种网络连接方法可以显着降低运营成本并提高多站点部署的资源使用率。 网络管理员可以更有效地使用带宽,它可以帮助确保关键应用程序的高性能水平,而不会影响安全性或数据隐私。

同时查看: SD-WAN 对您的业务意味着什么

敏感数据暴露(数据泄露)

敏感数据泄漏指的是安全漏洞事件类别,而不是特定类型的漏洞或攻击。当站点或服务已经被利用并将敏感数据发送到错误的手中时,就会发生这种事件。这些数据通常包括个人识别信息、信用卡号码、财务信息或其他私人数据。

SQL 注入(SQLi)

SQL 注入是一种常见的注入类型,攻击者向软件应用程序或站点界面发送 SQL 命令,以定位可能为被黑客入侵的软件或服务提供服务的数据库服务器。

视频流

视频流是连续地从服务器向观众传输视频文件。 因此,在线视频是实时传输的。 流式传输与下载相反。 流式传输实时发生。 如果下载了视频文件,查看者需要在设备上保护整个文件的副本,并且视频在下载完成之前无法播放。 而如果流式传输视频文件,则无需实际复制任何文件即可播放。

同时查看: 直播加速

VOD(点播)

VOD 是指视频点播。 VOD是一种媒体分发系统,让观众无需传统的视频娱乐设备或静态广播时间表即可访问视频。 视频可以下载到设备上继续观看,也可以流式传输。
同时查看: 点播加速

虚拟机

虚拟机 (VM) 是一种软件,可模拟计算机系统。 VM 基于计算机架构,提供计算机或服务器功能。 它的实现涉及专门的硬件、软件或组合。

虚拟专用服务器 (VPS)

虚拟专用服务器(VPS)是用作服务器的虚拟机,例如向客户机提供处理能力。VDS(虚拟专用服务器)也有相同的含义。

批量DDoS攻击

这些攻击,以网络层每秒的入站流量或应用层每秒的 HTTP/s 请求数为单位,以GB(甚至 TB)为单位,通常使用分布式资源,例如被劫持的计算设备和僵尸网络。 产生超过系统承受能力的流量。 网络层攻击 (L3/L4) 通常以大量“无意义”网络数据包为目标,而应用层攻击 (L7) 则以大量将要执行和执行的请求为目标,例如内存或输入/输出容量等服务器资源。 被攻击的服务器不停响应请求,直到系统资源耗尽。

Play Video

Glossary

Glossary

Amplified DDoS attacks

Amplification refers to a set of methods to increase the volume of attacks, typically through the abuse of non-suspecting 3rd party servers. A good example of such amplification is DNS amplification, in which queries are made to DNS servers that resolve domain names into IP addresses. When using the UDP protocol, the source IP of queries made to DNS servers is not verified. An attacker can therefore make a short request that yields a much longer response, while providing the IP address of the attacked target instead of the real IP making the request. The DNS server will send a response, which may be 10 or even 50 times longer than the query, to the attack target. Thus attackers can increase vastly the impact of their attacks.

API

API stands for Application Programming Interface. An API is a software intermediary that allows two or multiple software applications to talk to each other. It also allows extension mechanisms so that users are able to extend current functionality in various ways.

Also See: CDN360

Application Acceleration

Application acceleration is a network solution focus around maximizing web application’s speed for end users. Application acceleration is used for issues like WAN latency, bandwidth congestion. Applications that require extensive interactive content, this technology allows quick rendering and increase loading speed that could meet user expectation.

Also see: Enterprise Solutions

Backdoor

A Backdoor is a type of malware which bypasses or negates normal authentication procedures for the purpose of accessing a system illicitly. Remote access is thus permitted to system resources, such as databases and file servers, allowing perpetrators to issue system commands and update the malware remotely.

Big Data

“Big data” is a term to describe data sets that are too large or too complex to be processed or analysed by traditional data-processing application software. Currently, it tends to refer the use of data analytics methods or user behavior analytics that need to extract value from data.

Brute Force Attacks

Brute Force attacks are automated attempts to access restricted resources, such as user accounts, by trying to log in or access the resource again and again with incremental tiny variations of usernames, passwords or other parameters.

Cache

Cache is a hardware or software component that stores data thus future requests for that data can be served faster. Caching is at the core of content delivery network (CDN) services. CDN copies website content to proxy servers which are optimized for content distribution.

CDN (Content Delivery Network)

A content delivery network (CDN) refers to geographically distributed large network of proxy servers and data centers. CDN is to provide high availability and good performance by distributing content spatially relative to end users. Companies across different verticals employ CDN to deliver media (such as video, audio and streaming), HTTP content, and download files.

Also see: How Content Delivery Network Works

CDN Services

Most operators find CDN solutions are fundamental for delivering the services and contents to keep pace with the growing demand for streaming media, online gaming. CDN services provide a cost effective solution. Without CDN, it is impossible to satisfy consumers’ need for fast and secured online experience from any device.
For network operators who want to benefit from CDN without managements CDNetworks offers leading solutions for CDN services. For developers who want to take charge of their own CDN and be more flexible with the cost and performance, CDNetworks offers CDN360 with our unique self-serving features.

Also see: Choosing the right CDN service provider, CDN360

Credential Stuffing

A Credential Stuffing attack is a variant of Brute Force. In these cases, the attacker already has a list of user names, emails and passwords, typically stolen or leaked from a site or service. This list is used to try and access accounts on a different site or service, leaning on the fact that users tend to re-use passwords on multiple services.

Credit Card Stuffing (Carding)

Similar to Credential Stuffing, in which passwords stolen from one site or service are used on another one, Carding uses stolen credit card information from one site or service to run an automated process to verify each card’s validity by charging small amounts on the checkout page or via the API of a different site.

Cross Site Scripting (XSS)

A Cross Site Scripting Attack targets the user’s browser by injecting Javascript code to a site. There are several different vulnerabilities exploited to add malicious Javascript code to websites. A successful XSS attack would give the attacker access to the user’s browser and the user’s session information on the hacked website.

Data Leakage Protection (DLP)

The term Data Leakage Protection refers, generally, to tools and services that typically monitor outbound data and make sure that it does not contain Sensitive Data Exposure, or a leakage of information into the wrong hands. Such tools typically block the flow of outgoing data or remove the sensitive information from it. A good WAF should contain a module for outbound data inspection.

Dictionary Attacks

A Dictionary Attack is a “softer” version of a Brute Force attack in which the access attempts are based on dictionaries of commonly used passwords, such as “1234”, to locate and penetrate accounts or other resources with weak passwords.

Distributed Denial of Service attacks (DDoS)

DDOS  attacks are attacks with various methods designed to take a site or an online service down and make it inaccessible to users. One common method is directing a large number of requests simultaneously at the target website so that it becomes overwhelmed and exhausts its resources.

Domain Name System (DNS)

The domain name system (DNS) is a naming convention for computers, services, or any other system or resource on the Internet or in a private network. Essentially, domain names are translated into IP addresses for the purposes of routing traffic and identifying users worldwide.

See also: DNS Security

HTTPS & HTTPS

Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) is an application-layer protocol for transmitting hypermedia files, such as HTML. It was designed for communication between web browsers and web servers. HTTP is the foundation of data communication for the World Wide Web, where hypertext documents (e.g. hyperlinks) can be accessed by users easily. Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS) is an extension of HTTP. It is used for secure communication over a computer network, and is widely used on the Internet. In HTTPS, the communication protocol is encrypted using Transport Layer Security.

Differences:

  • HTTP is unsecured while HTTPS is secured.
  • HTTP operates at application layer, while HTTPS operates at transport layer and uses TLS/SSL certificate to ensure authentication..

See also: How to distribute and utilize videos

Images and Resolutions

Resolutions refers to the sharpness and clarity of an image. It often used to describe monitors, printers, and bit-mapped graphic images. Websites with plain texts are rarely seen these days. Images can improve engagement, due to higher resolution screens image size has increased. Therefore, website performance is slowed down by high resolution images.

Also see: Web Performance

Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS)

Infrastructure as a service (IaaS) is a form of cloud computing that provides virtualized computing resources over the internet. Traditional IT infrastructure such as server hardware are provided by the cloud and it reduced the requirement for purchasing and maintaining private IT infrastructure. Alongside IaaS, software as a service (SaaS) and platform as a service (PaaS), are the three main categories of cloud computing.

Injections

Injections refers to adding (or “injecting”) commands to inputs that a software application or a SaaS expects to receive from users, such as  on forms, or APIs, with the intention that these commands will be executed by an underlying component or service, gaining control over that component, extracting data from it, or other malicious acts.

this obviates the need for “etc.” because it indicates that the following are examples.

Load Balancing

Load balancing refers to the process of distributing requests and tasks over a set of servers, which aims to make the overall processing more efficient. As a result, avoiding a single server becomes overwhelmed by web traffic.

Also see: Dynamic Web Acceleration, Cloud DNS, CDN360

Man in the Browser (MitB)

Man in the Browser attacks are almost identical to MitM attacks, but instead of being located somewhere on the network between the two parties, the attacker penetrates the browser of one party, typically by using a malicious browser extension or an app installed on that user’s device. This access to the user’s browser allows the 3rd party to eavesdrop or modify data exchanged between the user and a website.

Man in the Middle (MitM)

In a Man in the Middle attack, a hacker intercepts the traffic between two communicating parties. In some cases, such an infiltrator would need to pass the messages between the parties and thus to pretend to be the first party when communicating a message to the second one and vice versa. Such an interception can be used either to eavesdrop and/or to modify the data sent between the parties. Generally, a combination of encryption (such as TLS/SSL) and certificates are used to prevent this.

Media Streaming

Media streaming is video and audio content over the Internet being constantly received and presented to viewers. Media files are normally managed by media companies.

See also: Media Delivery

OWASP Top 10

OWASP stands for the Open Web Application Security Project. It is a global non-profit foundation of security specialists and other volunteers, famous for publishing a list of the highest security risks for web applications, known as “OWASP Top 10”.

Protocol DDoS Attacks

These attacks target weaknesses in protocols such as TCP/IP (network layer attacks) and HTTP (application layer attacks) or their implementations. Typically, these attacks exploit scenarios in which a server gets a packet or a request from a computer and will expect further communication. The server allocates memory and resources to maintain the session state and the communication channel, which is abused by intentionally slowing down or halting communication and draining such resources.

Scraping

Web Scraping is an automated process designed to extract public data from websites by making multiple requests to different web pages or resources. Scraping can be categorized as an exploitation of computer resources and of business data, but is not an “attack” per se, since typically the scraped data is exposed to users and not restricted.

SD-WAN

Software Defined WAN (SD-WAN) is the next generation of WANs: It offers a completely new way of managing and operating your WAN infrastructure. This managed, secure, SD-WAN connectivity solution delivers seamless connections and optimised user experience without sacrificing security.

SD-WAN addresses to many IT challenges. This approach to network connectivity can lower operational costs significantly and improve resource usage for mult-isite deployment. Bandwidth can be used more efficiently by network administrators and it can help ensure high levels of performance for critical applications without compromising security or data privacy.

Also see: What SD-WAN means for your Business

Sensitive Data Exposure (Data Leakage)

A sensitive data leakage refers to a security breach incident category, rather than a specific type of vulnerability or attack. Such an incident takes place whenever a site or a service is exploited already and sends sensitive data into the wrong hands. The data typically includes personal identifying information, credit card numbers, financial information or other private data.

SQL Injection (SQLi)

SQL Injection is a common type of Injection, in which the attacker sends SQL commands to a software application or site interface to target a Database Server that may be serving the software or service being hacked.

Video Streaming

Video Streaming is the transmission of video files from a server to a viewer continuously. Therefore, online video is transferred in real time as is consumed. Streaming is opposite to downloading. Streaming happens in real-time. If a video file is downloaded, viewer needs to safe a copy of that entire file on the device and video cannot play until downloading finishes. Whereas, if a video file is streamed, it is played without actually copying any files.

See also: Media Acceleration Live Broadcast

VOD

VOD refers to Video On Demand. VOD is a media distribution system that allows viewers to access videos without traditional video entertainment device or static broadcasting schedule. Videos can be downloaded to devices for continued viewing, or can be streamed.
Also see: Media Acceleration

Virtual Machine

Virtual machine (VM) is software and emulates a computer system. VM is based on computer architectures and provides computer or server functions. Its implementation involves specialized hardware, software, or a combination.

Virtual Private Server (VPS)

A virtual private server (VPS) is a virtual machine that used as a server such as providing processing power to client machines. VDS (virtual dedicated server) also means the same.

Volumetric DDoS Attacks

These attacks, measured either in Gigabits (or even Terrabits) of inbound traffic per second in the network layer or HTTP/s requests per second in the application layer, typically use distributed resources, such as hijacked computing devices and botnets,. to generate more traffic then the targeted system can absorb. Network layer attacks (L3/L4) typically target the network capacity with a flood of “meaningless” network packets while Application layer attacks (L7) target server resources such as memory or Input/Output capacities through a flood of requests that will be executed and responded by the attacked servers, until systems resources are exhausted.

Trusted by global leading companies across key industries

CDNetworks is a leading Global Content Delivery Network. We provide innovative and custom-tailored solutions to businesses across key industries.